Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
Yet another recoloring tutorial (graphics, beware)
Dak
Hi, it's me, DaK. Here's another tutorial on recoloring, and some tips on how to get around the difficulties encountered while recoloring. I'm relatively new to photoshop so bear with me.

Materials-
-Photoshop (I'm not sure if versions below CS2 will work with this method)
-Mouse
-At least 20 minutes
-Some patience
-Keyboard (optional)

Note: You can save as .PSD or .PDD for all the files that you need to save as .bmp for backup. Also, always keep a copy of the sys folder for backup.

1.) First off, open the sprite you want to use. For this purpose, I chose Bat.

[Image: screenie1kg0.png]

2.) To make your work easier, we're going to zoom in a bit.

[Image: screenie2jj2.png]

3.) If there is any burning or frozen frames, scroll near them. You'll see why later.

[Image: screenie3oz6.png]

4.) Go to Edit>Adjustments>Replace Color

[Image: screenie4km4.png]

5.) Now, pick the color you want to replace by clicking on it on the sprite sheet (not the little box). ONLY CLICK ON ONE FOR NOW.

[Image: screenie5nm3.png]

6.) Play around with the settings on the bottom until you're satisfied with the color.

[Image: screenie6gh7.png]

7.) If you want to add more color (to shaded spots/skin/hair/etc.) hold SHIFT and click on the basic colors you want shaded.

8.) There will be some pixels that stand out. Don't click on them, since the color in the bitmap is limited and you might modify other parts of the sprite sheet. Instead, increase the fuzziness for a wider spread, but don't increase it so far as to fill the entire image. If it spreads too far (onto hair, skin, clothes, etc. that you don't want colored) you reduce the fuzziness.

9.) Here's the important bit-SAVE. It saves you a lot of time and trouble without having to write down all the values again.

[Image: screenie7vr5.png]

10.) Repeat steps 3~9 if you want to replace more colors.